The Dreaded 72 Hour Kit…You really can do it!

Now for perhaps the most important part of disaster preparedness–72 hour kits.  They are a pain to assemble, but will be extremely useful and needed in the event of an emergency.  The following list is provided by Ready America to help individuals and families assemble their own 72 hour kits.

Note to students: To avoid becoming overwhelmed, focus on gathering only the items in the first list. They are the most important.  The items in the second list can be gathered over time.

Recommended Items To Include In A Basic Emergency Supply Kit:

  • Water, one gallon of water per person per day for at least three days, for drinking and sanitation
  • Food, at least a three-day supply of non-perishable food
  • Battery-powered or hand crank radio and a NOAA Weather Radio with tone alert and extra batteries for both
  • Flashlight and extra batteries
  • First Aid Kit
  • Whistle to signal for help
  • Dust Mask, to help filter contaminated air and plastic sheeting and duct tape to shelter-in-place
  • Moist towelettes, garbage bags and plastic ties for personal sanitation
  • Wrench or pliers to turn off utilities
  • Can opener for food (if kit contains canned food)
  • Local maps
  • Cell phone with chargers, inverter or solar charger

Additional Items To Consider Adding To An Emergency Supply Kit:

  • Prescription medications and glasses
  • Infant formula and diapers
  • Pet food and extra water for your pet
  • Important family documents such as copies of insurance policies, identification and bank account records in a waterproof, portable container
  • Cash or traveler’s checks and change
  • Emergency reference material such as a first aid book or information from http://www.ready.gov
  • Sleeping bag or warm blanket for each person. Consider additional bedding if you live in a cold-weather climate.
  • Complete change of clothing including a long sleeved shirt, long pants and sturdy shoes. Consider additional clothing if you live in a cold-weather climate.
  • Household chlorine bleach and medicine dropper – When diluted nine parts water to one part bleach, bleach can be used as a disinfectant. Or in an emergency, you can use it to treat water by using 16 drops of regular household liquid bleach per gallon of water. Do not use scented, color safe or bleaches with added cleaners.
  • Fire Extinguisher
  • Matches in a waterproof container
  • Feminine supplies and personal hygiene items
  • Mess kits, paper cups, plates and plastic utensils, paper towels
  • Paper and pencil
  • Books, games, puzzles or other activities for children

If you would prefer to actually buy a 72 hour kit instead of assembling one on your own, visit sites such as Ready Solutions and the Red Cross.

Be sure to place these emergency kits in a location where they will be easily accessible in case of an emergency (i.e. in a closet by the front door).

**There are other items that can be added to this list, but the lists here are according to Ready America.

11 Comments

Filed under 72 Hour Kit, Be Prepared

11 responses to “The Dreaded 72 Hour Kit…You really can do it!

  1. We got 72 hour kits as a family and left them in our hall closet. It’s reassuring to know that if an emergency were to happen, we’re prepared.

  2. This is great. I’ve never known exactly what a 72-hour kit should consist of. It’s good to have a list of things that would be most essential too, for those of us on a very tight budget. Thanks for posting this

  3. I totally agree with the importance of a 72-hour kit. Just a couple weeks ago for Family Home Evening we made individual 72-hour kits for each member in our group. It is always important to be prepared. I don’t think it is nearly as complete as the one you have posted but it is a start for college students

  4. Thanks for the list! I’ve made a goal to get a 72 hour kit put together for me and my husband, so this is a great guide to help me get started!

  5. katiepee

    I am putting one of these together soon! It saved my family a few years ago when a tree fell on my house and we had no power. I need one for college.

  6. We must remember to update our 72-hour kits. I have one in the attic of my parents home in Oklahoma, and I’ve lived in Provo for three years! We assembled them as a family when I was 12. Obviously my 72-hour kit will not help me in any way if I was in an emergency, but also, I doubt that my 12 year old sister, Lauren, could benefit from anything in the kit that has been gathering dust in my attic for 10 years! Leaders of our church, encourage us to assemble these kits often. This post is another good reminder, I need to be prepared!

  7. This is great information! It is possible to be prepared as a student. Thanks for making it easier!

  8. This post was really reassuring to me. I think that one of the hardest things is just to get started. This list and the suggestions you gave made it seem so simple. I will be more likely to start one now. Thanks for the help!

  9. This is so important! My wife and I learned about 72 hour kit at a church activity, and we’ve been trying to have as much of it as we can. Who knows what will happen tomorrow?

  10. my fiance just bought a new car an i made him a little car emergency kid, kinda like a 72 hour kit for when you are driving. thanks for the list, this is my next project!

  11. Pingback: Making A 72 Hour Kit - Good Life Organizing

Leave a comment