Why Be Prepared?

Alright.  I know many of you thought twice when you saw this blog.  Maybe you thought it was weird?  Nerdy?  A good idea?  So random?  I don’t blame you.  However, emergency preparedness and response has always been fascinating to me, probably because my family is so into it.  For example, we created 72 hour kits for Family Home Evening (FHE) back when I was like 10, other FHE activities have included having contests to find the gas shut off, water shut off, memorizing the name of our insurance and security system code, etc, and I witnessed my parents go on a “food storage frenzy” and gather a three months supply of food storage.  I know that the reason my parents have been so “into” this kind of stuff is because the leaders of our church have prophesied over and over of calamities and disasters that are to come and that we need to prepare ourselves and our families.  I’m very grateful for my parents’ examples.

Perhaps the most comforting message in the scriptures is D&C 38:30 which says, “…if ye are prepared ye shall not fear.”  Unfortunately, most people do not realize the importance of preparing for natural disasters until they actually “strike” personally.  For example, those affected by the earthquake in Haiti may not have known about the importance of 72 hour kits or food storage, because nothing up until this point had ever caused them to need these things.  Many college students, myself included, may think, “I don’t need food storage, my family has so much at home and plus, my cupboards are stocked full of food!”  Well what will happen when a possible disaster strikes and you are stranded in your apartment for a week?  That cupboard will not stay stocked full for long.  🙂  Hopefully suggestions I post on this blog might be able to prompt you to prepare yourself, so that “ye shall not fear” when disasters strike.

6 Comments

Filed under Be Prepared, Counsel, Scripture

6 responses to “Why Be Prepared?

  1. I think this is a really great topic to talk about with college students because a lot of us do have that mentality that our families would take care of us and we don’t need to worry about. But what we need to realize is the reality that our families are far from us and in a disaster, how would we even get back home?

  2. First of all, I love pictures you’ve picked. They remind me of the game Sim City 2000 when the cities that you had spent hours trying to populate got destroyed by natural disasters. Anyway, I remember also having those FHEs. I always kinda rolled my eyes at them but now, given all the disasters that have been occurring lately, it really is important for each of us to have some measure of preparation.

  3. alissar

    Similar to what sarahtop said, even though we’re in college we’re at risk just like anybody else, and need to be prepared. We all should have 72 hours kits ready for any disaster.

  4. beccaevans

    I used to hate when my parents did those FHE’s because I felt like they were so unnecessary. I never thought there would be an earthquake or anything happen to me. But now that I am married and preparing for a family of my own I can see how important they are. Love the post.

  5. To be completely honest, emergency preparedness is not exciting to me. It’s something I kind of avoid thinking about. Luckily, my parents are quite the opposite. We have tons of food storage and I know that it will come in handy someday.

  6. I’m a convert so this emergency preparedness stuff is kinda new to me. But now I have a 24 hour pack in my trunk at all times.

Leave a Reply

